

Press Release

For immediate distribution

REGINA SURGEON RECEIVES PRESTIGIOUS PRIZE: the Dr. Dennis A. Kendel Distinguished Service Award



SASKATOON, NOVEMBER 21, 2016 – During a special awards banquet held on November 18th, 2016, the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan presented Dr. Corrine Jabs (see biography below) of Regina with the prestigious *Dr. Dennis A. Kendel Distinguished Service Award* for outstanding contributions to physician leadership and/or to physician engagement in quality improvements in health care in Saskatchewan.

"I am honoured to receive this award. Quality improvement is a team sport and I am fortunate to work with physician and administrative colleagues who understand why I am never satisfied with the status quo." stated Dr. Jabs, who has served as Department Head of Obstetrics and Gynecology in RQHR since 2011.

Among her accomplishments are the development and establishment of three clinics to improve patient access to healthcare services for women in her Health Region. Today, she also manages to provide subspecialty services as an Urogynecologist, and is an Associate Professor, a Clinical Researcher, a strong, active and innovative leader and a tireless advocate for women's health in Saskatchewan.

Dr. Jabs' personal mission statement is to do the most good for the most women possible. Her continuing challenge is determining how best to accomplish that goal in collaboration with colleagues, Regina Qu'Appelle Health Region and Saskatchewan Ministry of Health.

"Council is very pleased to present the fifth edition of the award to a candidate who has distinguished herself by advocating for and dedicating her career to improving access to health care services for women. Dr. Jabs has shown remarkable leadership and has had multiple measurable positive impacts on health services in her workplace," said Dr. Alan Beggs, President of the College Council, who presented Dr. Jabs with the award.

The *Dr. Dennis A. Kendel Distinguished Service Award* was named in honour of Dr. Dennis Kendel, who retired in 2011 after a long career as Registrar of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan. Past recipients are Dr. Oberholzer and Dr. Helms of Radville (2012), Dr. Marilyn Baetz of Saskatoon (2013), Dr. William Albritton (2014), as well as Dr. Ryan Meili and Dr. Mark Wahba (2015).

To complement the award presentation, a further seventeen (17) recipients were honoured with **Senior Life Designation 2016** (for having held a license to practice medicine in Saskatchewan for a cumulative total of 40 years) for their lifelong contribution, as per the Medical Profession Act.

These are Dr. R. Cardoso-Medinilla, Dr. Biswa Datta, Dr. Andrew Judd, Dr. Carol Norman, Dr. Lila Rudachyk, Dr. Thomas Blackwell, Dr. Thomas Coneys, Dr. Anthony Courtney, Dr. Jyoti Das, Dr. Bernard Lawlor, Dr. Yellepeddy Nataraj, Dr. Gregory O'Byrne, Dr. George Pylypchuk, Dr. Ole Rasmussen, Dr. Alwyn Rose, Dr. Mark Sheridan, and Dr. Gill White.

The mission of the **College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan** is to serve the public by regulating the practice of medicine and guiding the profession to achieve the highest standards of care. It currently issues licenses to approximately 2500 physicians and surgeons in the province, as well as over 1500 corporate permits.

-30-

Information: Caro Gareau

Communications Officer || Agente des communications College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan 1 306 667-4638 or 1 306 244-7355

communications@cps.sk.ca

www.cps.sk.ca



Dr. Corrine Jabs has served as Department Head of Obstetrics and Gynecology for the Regina Qu'Appelle Health Region since 2011. She also provides sub-specialty services as an Urogynecologist, and is an Associate Professor, a clinical researcher, a strong, active and innovative leader and a tireless advocate for women's health in Saskatchewan.

Corrine is certified both with LEAN and with the Saskatchewan Leadership Program, and has taken many leadership courses in healthcare. But she does not stop at attending professional development courses. She puts what she learns to good use, for example by introducing the Referral Management System in the RQHR and is the first surgeon in the province to use the WHO Surgical Checklist.

As one nominator stated, in her effort to meet the needs of the underserved women of the province, she established the South Saskatchewan Women's Clinic where she serves as Medical Director of the clinic and provides the space to allow the clinic to function.

She has developed two further clinics in the RQHR; the Pelvic Pathway Clinic and the Early Pregnancy Clinic to improve patient access to timely care for women. Her accomplishments have been achieved through perseverance, and with generous financial and family sacrifice on her part.

Her enthusiasm and dedication are contagious, and she leads by example, expecting no less from her colleagues. Her ability to engage the members of her department led it to have one of the highest scores in the last provincial physician engagement survey, in all disciplines.