Advisory Committee on Medical Imaging

The Diagnostic Imaging Quality Assurance Program is under contract from the Ministry of Health (Medical Services Branch) to provide a quality assurance program for medical imaging in the Province of Saskatchewan. Regulatory Bylaw 25.1, Operation of Diagnostic Imaging Facilities in the Province of Saskatchewan, has been developed to ensure the provision of an acceptable quality of patient care in diagnostic imaging. This document indicates conditions that must exist in any diagnostic imaging facility, whether fixed or portable to allow a physician to:

perform diagnostic imaging procedures in that facility; or
interpret diagnostic images rendered or obtained in that facility; or
refer patients to that facility.

The Advisory Committee on Medical Imaging (ACMI) of the College of Physicians and Surgeons has been mandated, by its contract with the Ministry of Health, to "develop methods and protocols for the assessment of the quality of medical imaging services provided."

The ACMI is currently comprised of four Radiologists, one Nuclear Medicine specialist, one Obstetrician/ Gynecologist, an Ultrasonographer, a Medical Radiation Technologist and representation from Radiation Health and Safety and the Ministry of Health, as well as three College staff members, who provide the administration of the DIQA program.

As part of its mandate, the ACMI has developed Standards of practice for Medical Imaging in the areas of General Ultrasound, Obstetrical Ultrasound, Computed Tomography (CT), Bone Densitometry, Interventional Radiology, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) and Nuclear Medicine. The "Echocardiography Standards of Canada" have been adopted for echocardiography practice.

In order to assess compliance with the standards, the ACMI has established a process with which to audit imaging physicians. This process includes peer review audits of Radiologists, Obstetrician/Gynecologists and those physicians performing Echocardiography (Cardiologists and Internists).

No content found