DOCTALK 2021 - Volume 8 Issue 1
February 2021
February 2021
By: Dr. Oladapo Mabadeje, CPSS Council Physician Member

Diversity and Inclusion to be Focus of New Committee

In response to expressions of concern that Council received in fall 2020, a committee was set up to look at the issue of diversity and bias in the medical profession. We realized that this would include an internal focus on the College’s operations, processes and procedures and an external focus on how the College interacts with its members and the public.

The Committee decided that its mandate will be to support the College and Council in identifying barriers to diversity and inclusion in its operations, support the College in addressing the issues of racial discrimination through culturally appropriate complaints and investigation processes and support members of the College to improve their knowledge of diversity, bias and inclusion.

While the committee’s initial focus was on racial diversity, at its last meeting, Council decided to make this a standing committee with specific terms of reference and an ability to look at the issue of diversity and bias in totality.

    Dr. Oladapo Mabadeje is a General Surgeon practicing in Prince Albert and a physician member of the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan. 


2020 Council Election Results:  Meet Your New Councillors!

Five (5) areas were subject to nominations calls for Council elections in November 2020, with two areas going to ballot.  Thank you to all the candidates as well as all the members who participated by sending in their ballots! Voter turnout reached 37% in the North-East Area, and 27.7% in Saskatoon.  (By comparison, the latest voter turnout for the Saskatoon civic election was 27.4%, and for the Yorkton civic election was 26.5%.)  

Council wishes to thank past Council members for their contribution during their term: Dr. Grant Stoneham, Dr. Pierre Hanekom, and Dr. Prasad Bhathala Venkata.    

Congratulations to the two Councillors who have returned to the table: Dr. Olawale Franklin Igbekoyi (South-West Area) was elected by acclamation for a second term, and Dr. Oladapo Mabadeje (North-West Area) was re-elected for a second term.  

Council also welcomes three new Councillors to the table:


Dr. Amos Akinbiyi

 Regina Area (elected by acclamation)

Dr. Akinbiyi has been a Clinical Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology in Regina since July 1996. He has also been the OBGYN anchor representative for the Medical Council of Canada Examinations for the past 10 years.  Dr. Akinbiyi is married with 4 children.


Dr. Daniel Boye Adeboye

South-East Area (elected by acclamation) 


Dr. Adeboye has been a family physician in Estevan since 2018. He completed his MD in Russia and family residency in United Kingdom. He speaks Russian and English, is a Christian and married.

When he is not busy with medical practice or administrative duties, he enjoys his time running or listening to music. A strong believer in community engagement, Dr. Adeboye is instrumental to founding Estevan’s first running group and is also a church volunteer.


   Dr. Pamela Meiers
 Saskatoon Area (elected)

« The practice of medicine, like all professions, is defined by our ability to self-regulate. This is a privilege that we are obliged to hold in the highest of integrity, honesty and respect for the protection of the public good.”

Dr. Meiers is a breast surgical oncologist at City Hospital and St. Paul’s Hospital in Saskatoon.  She has also assumed administrative, research, clinical and teaching roles in the past.  She has a legal background, which gives her a unique and broad lens to view the medical profession and allows her to provide opinions related to patient and physician concerns, a skill she put to use by serving until recently on the CPSS Disciplinary Committee.