DOCTALK 2022 - Volume 9 Issue 4
November 2022 Council Meeting Report
By Dr. Olawale Franklin Igbekoyi, CPSS Council President

Council last met on November 25 and 26, 2022.  The next Council meeting is scheduled for January 27 and 28, 2023.  Agendas and Executive Summaries with information about the content of the open portion of Council meetings are available here on the College website.

Highlights from the last Council Meeting
  • Council approved criteria for a new award. More details on the new award will be provided following the next Council meeting .
  • Council members and members of certain committees will be required to complete a designated course on unconscious bias to assist in improving equity in decision-making.
  • Council approved a pilot project and amended protocols submitted by the Saskatchewan College of Paramedics.
  • Council provided feedback on a number of issues relating to the drafting of proposed bylaws relating to Physician Assistants.
  • Council approved updates to seven policies/standards/guidelines and rescinded one guideline.


    Dr. Olawale Franklin Igbekoyi is President (2021-present) of the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan and a Family Physician practicing in Rosetown. 


Saskatoon Area Election Results

Congratulations to Dr. Sarah Mueller on being re-elected by ballot in the Saskatoon Area Election in November 2022 for a second consecutive term as a Physician Member of Council.

Welcome to Dr. Sivaruban Kanagaratnam, the newest Councilor to the table, who was elected by acclamation in the South West Area.

Also elected by acclamation for a second term are Dr. Jurgen Maslany (Regina Area) and Dr. Annamarie Snyman (North West & Athabasca Area). 

Congratulations to all!